Nudging & Beyond: From Behavioral Economics to Public Policy (2016)

Nudging & Beyond: From Behavioral Economics to Public Policy
Fractal Analytics
April 3, 2017

Advertisements

They initially work when a change acts as a reminder

The limits of nudging
A look at the Behavioural Insights Team’s latest report
Jul 24th 2015
https://www.economist.com/blogs/freeexchange/2015/07/behavioural-economics

Sending personal text messages helps to nudge people to remain in public programmes, such as literacy or numeracy programmes for young adults.
But as wonderful as the initial results are, the concern is that while such programmes initially work when a change acts as a reminder, once people become used to the new order they will stop paying attention to them and continue as before.

related:

The Last Mile Problem

Solving Social Problems with a Nudge
Sendhil Mullainathan
Behavioral economist
TEDIndia 2009

MacArthur winner Sendhil Mullainathan uses the lens of behavioral economics to study a tricky set of social problems — those we know how to solve, but don’t. We know how to reduce child deaths due to diarrhea, how to prevent diabetes-related blindness and how to implement solar-cell technology … yet somehow, we don’t or can’t. Why?

cited in:
http://www.ideas42.org/learn
[http://www.npr.org/sections/ed/2016/08/06/487620412/scientific-secrets-to-keep-kids-in-college]

How Can A Nudge Save A Life?
TED Radio Hour
June 24, 2016
http://www.npr.org/2016/06/24/483136951/how-can-a-nudge-save-a-life

October 24, 2015
http://thepsychreport.com/business-org/how-do-we-solve-the-last-mile

Choice architecture

Choice_architectureChoice architecture

When we go around our lives, we have a tremendous sense of agency.
We feel that we make decisions.
We decide what to eat, and what to wear and how to drive and whether or not to donate our organs, and how to save for retirement, and all kind of decisions like that.
But if you take these results seriously …

1.2 Defaults
A Beginner’s Guide to Irrational Behavior
Duke University
https://www.coursera.org/course/behavioralecon

Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness

Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness
by Richard H. Thaler, Cass R. Sunstein
Penguin Books; Revised & Expanded edition (February 24, 2009)
http://www.amazon.com/Nudge-Improving-Decisions-Health-Happiness/dp/014311526X

An Economist Best Book of the Year

“For fans of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and Nobel Prize winner Daniel Kahneman’s Thinking Fast and Slow, a revelatory new look at how we make decisions” Amazon.com

Nudge is about choices-how we make them and how we can make better ones.
Authors Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein offer a new perspective on preventing the countless mistakes we make- including ill-advised personal investments, consumption of unhealthy foods, neglect of our natural resources, and other bad decisions.
Citing decades of cutting-edge behavioral science research, they demonstrate that sensible “choice architecture” can successfully nudge people towards the best decisions without restricting their freedom of choice.
Straightforward, informative, and entertaining, this is a must-read for anyone with interest in our individual and collective well-being.
http://www.us.penguingroup.com/nf/Book/BookDisplay/0,,9780143115267,00.html

related:
Episode 803: Nudge, Nudge, Nobel
November 1, 2017
http://www.npr.org/sections/money/2017/11/01/561421807/episode-803-nudge-nudge-nobel

The Ethics of Nudging
TORCH | The Oxford Research Centre in the Humanities
March 6, 2016