Choice architecture

Choice_architectureChoice architecture

When we go around our lives, we have a tremendous sense of agency.
We feel that we make decisions.
We decide what to eat, and what to wear and how to drive and whether or not to donate our organs, and how to save for retirement, and all kind of decisions like that.
But if you take these results seriously …

1.2 Defaults
A Beginner’s Guide to Irrational Behavior
Duke University
https://www.coursera.org/course/behavioralecon

Advertisements

Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness

Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness
by Richard H. Thaler, Cass R. Sunstein
Penguin Books; Revised & Expanded edition (February 24, 2009)
http://www.amazon.com/Nudge-Improving-Decisions-Health-Happiness/dp/014311526X

An Economist Best Book of the Year

“For fans of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and Nobel Prize winner Daniel Kahneman’s Thinking Fast and Slow, a revelatory new look at how we make decisions” Amazon.com

Nudge is about choices-how we make them and how we can make better ones.
Authors Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein offer a new perspective on preventing the countless mistakes we make- including ill-advised personal investments, consumption of unhealthy foods, neglect of our natural resources, and other bad decisions.
Citing decades of cutting-edge behavioral science research, they demonstrate that sensible “choice architecture” can successfully nudge people towards the best decisions without restricting their freedom of choice.
Straightforward, informative, and entertaining, this is a must-read for anyone with interest in our individual and collective well-being.
http://www.us.penguingroup.com/nf/Book/BookDisplay/0,,9780143115267,00.html