How A Machine Learned To Spot Depression

How A Machine Learned To Spot Depression
May 20, 2015
http://www.npr.org/sections/money/2015/05/20/407978049/how-a-machine-learned-to-spot-depression

I’m in a booth with a computer program called Ellie. She’s on a screen in front of me.

Ellie was designed to diagnose post-traumatic stress disorder and depression, and when I get into the booth she starts asking me questions — about my family, my feelings, my biggest regrets.

Emotions seem really messy and hard for a machine to understand. But Skip Rizzo, a psychologist who helped design Ellie, thought otherwise.

When I answer Ellie’s questions, she listens. But she doesn’t process the words I’m saying. She analyzes my tone. A camera tracks every detail of my facial expressions.

https://www.youtube.com/user/AlbertSkipRizzo

Leave a Reply

