Sting: Don’t believe in miracles, success is about perseverance

10 Questions for Sting
Monday, Nov. 21, 2011
http://content.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,2099139,00.html
Singer, activist and former Police man Sting is 60.

You say in your book and box set Sting: 25 Years that you don’t believe in miracles, that success is about perseverance. Was there never a song that just came as a gift?

Some do come already wrapped in ribbon–probably the most successful ones. “Every Breath You Take,” for example. Or “Roxanne.” Not that there’s anything particularly original about those songs. I don’t think there’s such a thing as composition in pop music. I think what we do in pop music is collate. It’s like folk music. It makes copyright a bit interesting and difficult. I’m a good collator.

in many ways, acknowledging that sense of mortality enriches the life you have left. My dad and I had the same hands. I hadn’t really noticed that until he was on his deathbed, and I mentioned it. And he said, “You used your hands better than I did.” My dad was a milkman. And I realized that was probably the first compliment he’d ever paid me

I understand the realpolitik of being President.

2 thoughts on “Sting: Don’t believe in miracles, success is about perseverance

  1. Pingback: A1 | franzcalvo

  2. Pingback: A1 | franzcalvo

Leave a Reply

