A Rival For Pigeon In Willems’ New ‘Duckling’

April 24, 2012
Pigeon is the star of a series of best-selling children’s books, including The Pigeon Finds a Hotdog! and Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! He’s not much more than a stick figure with two circles for eyes, but he can still get huffy and display all the melodrama of a 4-year-old.

“I have to make sure that my orchestra is engaged, that they’re maybe being sillier than they normally are, that they’re yelling and jumping around, so that that’s what’s going to make the book work better,” he says.

“I want parents to be engaged, and I want them to laugh, because then it’s cool,” he adds. “I think that sometimes parents forget that they are the coolest people in the world to kids … so if they’re enjoying reading a book, suddenly the kid is going to say, ‘Wow, reading books is awesome!’ ”
http://www.npr.org/2012/04/24/151229926/a-rival-for-pigeon-in-willems-new-duckling

Leave a comment